AM 1470 WRGA Rome's News Talk Listen LIve


Floyd Jail To Receive Technology Update, County SPLOST Delegates Named

Feb 26, 2013 -- 10:16pm


By: Laura-Jane Hatcher (WRGA News) 

 Floyd County has elected the six delegates who will represent them on a citizen SPLOST Committee.
Out of the twenty applicants that applied, the county commission has appointed Jim Bojo, Brad Doyle, Jim Howell, Eric Hunt, Leigh Rush, and Greta Willoughby to join up with four city representatives and one Cave Spring delegate to identify self-sustaining, capital projects for the proposed SPLOST. To get the penny tax on the November ballot, the committee must propose these plans before May.
The county commission also voted Tuesday to allow the Sheriffs’ Office to fund a $32,000 3rd party study of the Floyd County Jail’s electronic system. According to assistant county manager Noah Simon, technology like duress buttons and the locks on inmate doors have been found to be “deficient” inside the jail. 
“I believe it was last year that the Grand Jury Report identified this as one of our deficiencies as well as we know by staff within the jail that this is a deficiency,” Simon says. “It’s an older electronic system that was probably a little bit dated when the Jail was built. So, it’s beyond its useful life.” 
Once the study is completed, the electronic update could be implemented anywhere from 12-18 months at a cost upwards of $2 million. 
Finally, the commission honored their ten employees who have embarked on their retirement from the county. All ten received a plaque, and one a proclamation for over 25 years of service. 

Return to: Local News Blog