AM 1470 WRGA Rome's News Talk Listen LIve


Election Day Results 
Wednesday afternoon update: 
The Georgia Secretary of State's Office issued a tabulation update.
Yesterday, a record number of Georgians cast their ballots in a midterm election. Immediately after the polls closed, county election officials worked through the night to tabulate ballots.
Today, Clarke, Fulton, Hall, and Gwinnett counties completed tabulation of their remaining absentee ballots. Less than 3,000 non-provisional votes remain state-wide. Cobb and Chatham are expected to complete tabulation today.
County officials have reported less than 22,000 provisional ballots cast statewide. Counties have until this Friday to verify provisional ballots and until Tuesday, November 13th at 5:00 p.m. to certify their results.
The Secretary of State’s office will certify the final results after county certification and no later than Wednesday, November 14th.
Previous story: 
It’s Wednesday morning and we still don’t know for sure the outcome of the Georgia Governor’s race.
Brian Kemp has not declared victory and Stacey Abrams has not conceded.
Kempt leads with 50.5% of the vote, and while there are not enough votes out there for Abrams to overtake him, there could be enough to bring Kemp below the 50% plus 1 needed to avoid a runoff.
Speaking of which, there will be a runoff in the Secretary of State contest between Republican Brad Raffensperger and Democrat John Barrow.
That runoff will be December 4.
Rhonda Wallace has been re-elected to the Floyd County Commission.
Wallace received 11,030 votes to challenger Stephanie Wright’s 3,387 votes.
In the State Senate, Chuck Hufstetler won another term under the Gold Dome.
Hufstetler garnered 11,239 votes in Floyd County while his challenger Evan Ross got 3,763.
In the State House, Katie Dempsey was re-elected with 4,830 votes to John Burnette’s 2,371 votes.
In Floyd County, Brian Kemp got the most votes for Governor, Geoff Duncan for Lt. Governor, Chris Carr for Attorney General and Brad Raffensperger for Secretary of State.
Voter turnout in Floyd County was 57.79%.
In Bartow County, for State Senate in District 14 Bruce Thompson won re-election, while Chuck Hufstetler got the most votes in District 52.
Barry Loudermilk was re-elected to Congress.

Tony Ross won his bid for the District One seat on the Bartow County Board of Education while Derek Keeney won in District Three.

In Kingston, Larry Posey won the special election for city council.
In Gordon County, Chad Steward was re-elected to the county commission while Dana Stewart gets another term on the school board.

State Representatives John Meadows and Rick Jasperse were also re-elected. 
In Chattooga County, Republicans Brad Hayes, Sammy Ballard and Julia Houston all ousted incumbent Democrats on the school board. 
In Polk County, voters approved a Special Purpose Local Option Sales Tax by a margin of 2,179 votes.
Jennifer Hulsey was re-elected to the Polk County Commission while Ray Carter won the special election for the District Three seat on the county commission. 
Results can be viewed county-by-county in the links below.